help center

registration and sign in faqs


 •  What is the "Skip Sign In" checkbox for on the My Way Sign-In page?
 •  I don't share my computer with anyone. Should I sign out of My Way when I'm done using it?
 •  What is secure mode? How is it different from standard mode?
 •  How do I know if I'm in Secure Mode when joining or signing in to My Way?
 •  What are the benefits of signing up on My Way?
 •  How do I sign up for My Way?
 •  Does it cost anything to sign up for My Way?
 •  How do I retrieve my Password?
 •  I am having problems retrieving my Password through the online form. What can I do?
 •  What can I do if my Password Hint isn't helping me and I don't have a contact email address on file?
 •  How can I get a new Password emailed to me?
 •  I can't remember my Username, what can I do?
 •  Can more than one person per household sign up for My Way, if they share the same computer?
 •  What are cookies?
 •  Why do I have to accept cookies to register?
 •  How do I update my user information?
 •  Someone else's name is on the top left of my My Page. What should I do?

What is the "Skip Sign In" checkbox for on the My Way Sign-In page?
For those My Way users who share a computer - or for anyone who may use a public computer (in a library, etc.) - signing out of My Way before ending each browser session is necessary to prevent others from accessing their My Way account. However, it can be easy to forget to do this.

In order to ensure that your personalized My Way settings are secure, we offer you the option of having My Way automatically sign you out of your account once your browser session ends. While this will require that you sign back in every time you visit the site, you won't have to worry about others accessing your personalized My Way settings from a public or shared computer. To choose this option, check the "Skip Sign In: Remember my Username and Password on this computer" box.
 
Back to top

I don't share my computer with anyone. Should I sign out of My Way when I'm done using it?
For My Way users who do not share their computer with others, there really is no reason to ever sign out of My Way.
 
Back to top

What is secure mode? How is it different from standard mode?
My Way offers its users two options when signing in or joining - standard and secure mode. Standard mode is used by more users because pages tend to load faster.

Secure mode uses SSL encryptions - technology that allows for extra protection for your transmissions by "encrypting" your sign-in information. Downsides to secure mode include slower-loading pages and the fact that some older browsers don't support this technology.

To access secure mode while signing in, use the "sign in" link at the bottom of any My Way page and then click the option for "Secure Mode" within the Sign-In box.

To access secure mode while joining My Way, click on the "sign in" at the bottom of any My Way page and then click the option for "Secure Mode" within the Sign-In box. While on the secure sign-in page, click on the "Sign Up Now" link on the right side of the page. You will be taken to the secure registration page.
 
Back to top

How do I know if I'm in Secure Mode when joining or signing in to My Way?
When signing in to My Way, you will know you are in Secure Mode when a gold key icon appears in the top "sign in" header bar of the page and next to the "Sign In" button at bottom.

When joining My Way, you will know you are in Secure Mode when a gold key icon appears in the top "sign up" header bar of the page.
 
Back to top

What are the benefits of signing up on My Way?
While you can get personalized information on My Way without signing up, you need to re-enter your information every time you visit. Once you sign up on My Way and customize these features, you'll automatically get your local weather forecast, TV and movie listings, and your very own personalized My Page each time you visit My Way.
 
Back to top

How do I sign up for My Way?
Signing up on My Way is easy. Just follow these steps:
 
 • Click the "Personalize now – it's free!" link at the top-right section of the My Way home page (just below the Google Search box).
 • Enter the requested information.
 • Click on the "Finished-Click Here" button.
 
If anything on the sign up form is not filled out correctly, either a message window or red text will appear on the page with instructions.
 
Back to top

Does it cost anything to sign up for My Way?
Not a penny! Signing up for My Way is absolutely free.
 
Back to top

How do I retrieve my Password?
If you've forgotten your Password, click here and enter your Username. We will then ask you to answer the secret question you chose when you signed up for My Way. We do this to verify your identity. Answer the question, click the "Get Password Hint" button, and we will then provide you with your Password Hint.

If you have signed up for a My Way Email account, signed up to use Message Boards, or edited your My Way Profile, you may have provided us with your email address as a contact in case you forgot your Password. If this is the case, you may choose the "Email Me A New Password" option on the Lost Password page instead of "Get Password Hint." We will email you a new Password that you can then use to sign in to your account using your existing Username. If you wish to choose a new Password, sign in to your account and click on "Profile" in the My Settings menu at the bottom of any My Way page.

Back to top

I am having problems retrieving my Password through the online form. What can I do?
The most likely reason that you encountered problems retrieving your Password is that you input an incorrect email address or other information on the Password retrieval form.
 
You can reach the Password lookup form by clicking here.
 
Back to top

What can I do if my Password Hint isn't helping me and I don't have a contact email address on file?
Our Customer Service Department might still be able to assist you if you can provide:
  • The My Way email address you are trying to access.

  • The Zip Code you used to register your account.
Contact Customer Service by writing to: passwordsupport"at"help.myway.com.
 
Back to top

How can I get a new Password emailed to me?
If you have signed up for a My Way Email account, signed up to use Message Boards, or edited your My Way Profile, you may have provided us with your email address as a contact in case you forgot your Password. If this is the case, you may wish to choose the "Email Me A New Password" option on the Lost Password page. We will email you a new Password that you can then use to sign in to your account using your existing Username. If you wish to choose a new Password, sign in to your account using the Password we emailed you and click on "Profile" in the My Settings menu at the bottom of any My Way page.
 
If you have not already provided us with an email contact address, we unfortunately will be unable to email you with a new password. You will need to retrieve your Password Hint, instead.
 
Back to top

I can't remember my Username, what can I do?
You will need to sign up for a new My Way user account. While we are able to provide you with your Password Hint or, in some cases, email a new Password to users who have provided us with an email contact address, we are unable to provide you with your Username.
 
Back to top

Can more than one person per household sign up for My Way, if they share the same computer?
Absolutely! Anyone may sign up for My Way, even if more than one person shares the same household and the same computer. Just use the "Sign Out" link at the bottom of any My Way page to let another user sign in.
 
Back to top

What are cookies?
Cookies are files on your computer that can be used to store information, so that you don't have to sign in each time you visit the site. Cookies do not provide us with any information beyond what you provided when you registered with My Way.
 
Back to top

Why do I have to accept cookies to sign up?
You need to accept cookies so that we may display your personalized My Page and other personalized settings thorughout the My Way site.
 
Back to top

How do I update my user information?
You can update your information online by clicking the "Profile" link in the My Settings menu at the bottom of any My Way page.
 
Back to top

Someone else's name is on the top left of my My Page. What should I do?
If someone else used My Way on your computer and did not sign out, you will see their name in the upper left corner of the screen.
 
To sign in to your own account, simply click on "Sign Out" and you will see a page for you to sign in with your own Username and Password.
 
Back to top